Banana-Oat Muffins

We all know that feeling. It’s getting late and you don’t want to make the trek to the closest grocery store, but you’re craving something sweet. Personally, I found myself in that scenario last night (and many other nights) and I was desperate to find a delicious, easy, and somewhat healthy recipe. I came across a banana oat muffin recipe that I decided to try out and it is absolutely one of my new favourites! The recipe is so easy to follow and you wont feel guilty for indulging a little, so why not try it out?

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 mashed ripe bananas
  • 1 egg
  • ½ cup milk of choice (I used almond)
  • ¾ teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2/3 cup whole-wheat flour (I used oat flour)
  • ½ cup quick oats
  • ¼ cup sugar or sweetener of choice (honey and maple syrup also works)
  • 1 ¾ tsp. baking powder
  • ½ tsp. ground cinnamon
  • ¼ tsp. salt

DIRECTIONS

  • Preheat oven to 375
  • Combine bananas, egg, milk and vanilla in a large bowl and mix well
  • Whisk flour, oats, sugar, baking powder, cinnamon and salt in a small bowl
  • Stir the flour mixture into the banana mixture until just combined
  • Fill muffin tins with 1/3 cup batter
  • Bake 16 minutes or until a wooden pick inserted comes out clean

NUTRITION FACTS per serving

Calories 152
Fat 5g
Saturated fat 1g
Monounsaturated fat 2g
Polyunsaturated fat 1g
Protein 4g
Carbohydrate 25g
Fiber 3g
Cholesterol 27mg
Iron 1mg
Sodium 178mg
Calcium 85mg

As always, feel free to make adjustments as you see fit. I would have added some nuts if I had some on hand, walnuts would be a yummy addition.

I have also created my own version of the infamous Tasty videos and included the link here if you’re looking for more direction on how to make these delicious muffins 🙂 I hope you enjoy them as much as I did!

Leave a Reply

