Time to Get Away

Hi all! Well the stressful month of February is finally coming to an end, which can only mean one thing… READING WEEK!! I don’t know about you, but I cannot wait to have a week off to catch up on some sleep and just relax. I know they call it reading week, but of course you can’t spend the whole time only doing homework. With my parents living in a different country I don’t get to see them as often as I’d like, so I am flying home for the week to spend it with them. And my dog of course!

I wanted to share my plans with you all just in case you have a trip to good ol’ Nebraska coming up and are looking for places to eat, good shopping malls, or are just looking to live through my experience 🙂

First stop is of course the shopping mall. Nebraska has a really great outlet mall with stores like Nike, Adidas, J. Crew, Kate Spade, Michael Kors, Banana Republic, etc. so you can imagine how long we spent there… My wallet was hurting a little after this trip but you definitely get more bang for your buck because the outlet sales are great!

After a long morning of shopping you have definitely worked up an appetite so we hit our go-to café, Paradise Bakery & Café. It’s a really cute little café with amazing sandwiches, soups, and salads. They have a lunch deal so you can make any combination of the two and I chose Paradise Club and the Fuji Apple Chicken salad. I have to admit, the salad was one of the best I’ve ever had and is now my go-to order.

Omaha has a really great zoo called Henry Doorly Zoo and Aquarium. It’s Nebraska’s number one tourist attraction and has been voted Top Zoo in the World by TripAdvisor many times. We had a really great day for it, an astonishing 24 degrees for February. They also had just opened the new expansion that includes a massive grasslands exhibition that houses giraffes, white rhinos, elephants, impalas, cheetahs, tigers, and a new sea lion exhibition. A mama gorilla just had a baby a few weeks ago too so we got to see the cute little guy! Even though I have already been there countless times, every time is like a new experience. I’ve included a quick video tour of the zoo and the new expansion.

One of my favourite restaurants in Omaha is Johnny’s Italian Steak House. It’s a really great Italian restaurant with a Rat Pack theme and your food is guaranteed to be delicious. I ordered the Johnny’s Chanel No. 5, which they state is Marilyn Monroe’s trademark (I love Marilyn Monroe). It was a pasta dish with lobster, shrimp, artichokes, prosciutto, and cheese ravioli in a garlic cream sauce. I’m drooling just thinking about it!

Although Nebraska may not be a popular destination, there it lots to do there and I would be happy to share more information or recommendations if requested 🙂

Leave a Reply

