Pumpkin, Pumpkin and More Pumpkin

So. It’s fall. And I love fall. What goes best with the fall season? PUMPKIN. One of my absolute favourite foods to bake with because it’s just so delicious! I tend to go a little crazy with it and will bake and bake and bake until I can’t stand the sight of it anymore (yes, I am a little obsessive). But that just means I will have a lot of options for you all! And you know what the best part is? Everything I share will be cost effective because I too am on a tight student budget and probably will be for the next while paying off my debt- sigh. Anyways, let’s get started!

Pumpkin is such a delicious addition to baked goods, although not all recipes can be health conscious. I was able to find a pumpkin loaf that tastes delicious and is good for you, so of course I have to share with you all. I made a couple of changes to the original recipe to make it even healthier but I’ll share both options so you can decide what route you want to take.

And now, the moment you’ve all been waiting for… Introducing OATMEAL PUMPKIN SPICE BREAD (queue cheering).

Original Recipe

  • 15 ounces pureed pumpkin
  • 4 eggs
  • 2/3 canola oil
  • 1/3 cup organic unsweetened applesauce
  • 2/3 cup water
  • 2 1/3 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup organic rolled oats
  • 1 2/3 cups sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground cloves

 

MY RECIPE

  • 15 ounces pureed pumpkin
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/3 cup organic unsweetened applesauce
  • 2/3 cups water
  • 2 1/3 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup organic rolled oats
  • ¾ cup organic pure maple syrup
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 2 tablespoons chopped walnuts

There were only a few adjustments that I made to the recipe in order to make it a little healthier and make me feel better about eating three slices that day… oops. I swapped out the sugar for real maple syrup and it could also be sweetened with honey if you have that instead. Also, don’t worry about the ingredients that say organic because they’re definitely more expensive and will taste the same without it. I also decided to leave out the canola oil altogether because personally I’m not a huge fan of it and the loaf still turned out amazing (in my opinion at least). And my final tweak is that I decided to add some walnuts to it because who doesn’t love a little added crunch. Okay, enough rambling and on with the directions.

Directions

  • Preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit
  • Lightly apply cooking spray to two load pans
  • Place the pumpkin, eggs, (oil), applesauce, and water in a large mixing bowl. Blend it together using a hand mixer until creamy
  • Mix the flour, oats, maple syrup (sugar), baking soda, and spices in a smaller mixing bowl
  • Add the dry ingredients into the wet, and using a spoon, mix thoroughly until smooth. Pour half the batter into each greased pan. Sprinkle the tops with rolled oats and chopped walnuts
  • Bake for 45 to 60 minutes or until a toothpick inserted comes out dry. Allow to cook in the pans before removing

Both recipes make two full loaves so make sure you have some family or friends to share the love with! It provides 16 servings (according to the original recipe) but my servings were definitely larger… Below are the nutrition facts for each serving and my final product, I hope you all enjoy as much as I did!pic

Nutrition Facts

Serving Size 75 g

Amount Per Serving
Calories 115
Total Fat 1g
       Saturated Fat 0g
Cholesterol 0g
Sodium 169mg
Total Carbohydrate 24g
       Dietary Fiber 4g
Protein 4g
Leave a Reply

